On Medical Doctors and Other Superior Beings


images-2

Well, Visitors, I’ve got a stumper for you. I’ve been informed by a long-term reader of mine that my attempts at camouflage are really pretty lame. I’ve been investigating this whole PTSD phenomenon for a while, and how the general population deals with mental differences. I’ve related to you some stories about how various people in my circles deal with someone like me who’s been traumatized, and what it’s like to live, grow, and even thrive with this particular kind of baggage. I’ve told you very personal stories of betrayal, and some of them have been at the hands of the same people.

Here’s a summary for you, in case you’re new around here and don’t feel like reading my morose “Why a Blog” page. (Spoiler alert, Run away quickly if you are dealing with metastatic colon cancer.   I’m not going to pull any punches with this one. Everyone is different, and you or your loved one might very well live. My husband did not,  and it was ugly. )

July 18, 2010, my 46 year old husband Chris passed away from colon cancer. It was just about every nightmare you can imagine. If metastatic colon cancer were a form of legal punishment, it would be outlawed as ‘cruel and unusual’.

I just read on the Colon Cancer Alliance page (http://www.ccalliance.org/‎) that the statistics for stage 4 colon cancer five year survival rates are up to a grand 12%. When Chris was diagnosed, the number was about 8%. Good luck with that.

At any rate, it’s easy to romanticize a lost battle to the death. I don’t feel like doing that anymore. Chris’s fight was ferocious, desperate, painful, grasping, and very, very deliberate. If there was one thing that kept him going, it was the fact that he simply couldn’t stand the idea of his children’s stories having “I lost my dad as a teenager” as a tagline. So he fought it off as long as he could.

Metastatic colon cancer is a wasting disease. He had no symptoms until it had invaded his liver. Fairly quickly, he went from a robust, six foot, 185 pound barrel chested man with incredibly sexy arms, to a withered 128 lb shell of himself.

His last week at home is something I’m still recovering from. Intimate proximity to horrifying, traumatic death is a very good working definition of PTSD. A musical friend of mine once said “Victoria, that stuff is enough to mess with anyone’s mind.” Right on, Kate.

So, it’s part of my story. It’s a lot more peaceful now, actually. The first year or two,  mental pictures of those last days would invade my dreams, even the wakeful ones. I’ve since learned that to try and banish that sort of thing is fairly pointless. What’s the first thing you think of when I say “Don’t think about elephants?” Big, grey, floppy trunks and ears, of course. So, “Don’t think about it?” How stupid is that?

Much better to talk myself down. Remind myself that it isn’t happening now. He’s not bleeding out now. He’s not hallucinating now. I’m not calling emergency vehicles now.  Friends aren’t descending now. The kids aren’t freaking out now. Yep, it happened, yep, it was hell, but it isn’t happening now. It’s surprising, how settling that can be.

I’ve discovered though, in many circles, that kind of self-talk makes me a fruitcake. To get back to my opening line, some of you have been able to tell that some of the stories I’ve related here have the same cast of characters.

Actually, probably most of you. I guess I’m pretty guilty of thinking too highly of my writing abilities. But what of it? The fact that anyone, a Jeff, Terrence, Chandler, whoever, would go around still using words like ‘crazy’, is  kind of startling. Do we say “retarded?”, “faggot?”, “Butch Queen?”, “kike” or “towel-head?” anymore? Of course not.

So why is “Crazy” the last bastion of comparative gossip?

My daughter Faith just cracks me up. She’s got the self-righteous, laser-focus hypocrisy meter cranked up on high. She also struggles like hell excelling at a pre-med course of study, community volunteerism, and intense grief about Dad that ratchets up with every accomplishment.

“Mom, my lab partner listens when I talk about how sad I am that Dad isn’t here to see I’ve tested out of two years of Spanish. Then she goes and tells her friends how glad she is her life isn’t  crazy like mine! “

Yep, comparative gossip.

When did it become OK to say,or even think, “Well, my life sucks, but at least it isn’t as bad as THEIRS.”

I had an interesting discussion with a member of my church the other day. This woman was a medical doctor, a “Christian”, and good friends with one of the characters I’ve previously introduced you to. Apparently, these two harpys feasted on the idea that, well, while THEIR lives might be hard, at least they aren’t CRAZY like me. For heaven’s sake.

As most of you know, and my counselor reminds me constantly, I have an overdeveloped sense of justice. I simply can’t stand to see the powerless taken advantage of. That’s why I’ve spent the past several decades working with children, and find it so satisfying.

But when grown, educated, rational adults go off like this, I can barely see straight. Just who do you think you are, making such insane judgements? This is nothing but a play for power, and a pathetic one at that.

As you can probably anticipate, I had to call the doctor out on it. Matthew 18:15-16 is clear.

15 “If your brother or sister sins, go and point out their fault, just between the two of you. If they listen to you, you have won them over. 16 But if they will not listen, take one or two others along, so that ‘every matter may be established by the testimony of two or three witnesses.’

So I did this. One of the few people in my life I listen to, a spiritual director of sorts, mediated the discussion.

I asked the doctor point blank of she had done these things. First, she went off on a long-winded riff about how she had never, ever, not one single time, even heard my name, couldn’t dial me up, had no idea who I was, until she received the mediating phone call.

Huh. Ok.

So, I asked her point blank, “So you never, ever, not one single time, had a discussion with the other party that involved any identifying characteristics of me, my name, my age, the fact that I stutter, my relationship status, my cancer story, my mental state,nothing?”

Silence on the other end. Then, more of the ‘Superior Than Thou’ riff”

“Well, I’m a doctor. ” (So? That and three dollars will get you coffee at Starbucks) “People ask me medical questions all the time.” (Really? And you discuss them in a personal manner? All the time?)

“She may have talked to me a couple of times, but it barely stuck.”

Really? Well, you can’t have it both ways. Either you “Never, Ever, Not Even Once” heard or spoke of me, or you did.

The long and short of the conversation was that the doctor was understandably embarrassed about being called out, and hung up on me angrily. Huh. Guess Victoria failed on the Romans 12:18, “In as much as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone” department.

So Miss Victoria is stumped. I honestly don’t have it out for the doctor. I’ve grown up in the medical community, and misbehaving doctors are a very sore spot with me. Especially one that makes a claim to the promises of Christ. So what to do ? I am beginning to thing, nothing. Jesus already promised that God the Father will protect the widow and the orphan.

It’s time to put this to bed. July 18 will mark three years that Chris has been gone.

Ephesians, Proverbs, Timothy, all of these remarkable books in the Bible talk about how ‘gossip separates intimate friends’, ‘stirs up anger’ , is frightfully judgemental and is something only ‘busybodies’ do.

Even being the butt of this nonsense, I’m actually OK. How about that? Two years ago I never would have been able to say that, much less share that with you, gentle Visitors.

My kids and I go along, and it’s OK. In fact, I can actually say that one blessing I’ve gotten out of this is an acute appreciation for the undeniable fact that all of us, every single one, has baggage to carry.

Every single one of us deserves to have their baggage handled with gentleness, privacy and care. That some of us, like this doctor,  don’t do that? Well, I guess they’ll always be there. Like my mom once said-

“Vickey, sometimes the only thing in me that loves people like that is Jesus.”

Well said, Ma.

Much love to you all,

Victoria

9 Comments

  1. I love this, Vic.
    I absolutely love it!
    Doctors, like everyone else, are a mixed bag, and they don’t get to take their titles with them after they die any more than the rest of us. That being said, I know of a few of them that if they didn’t actually have a name tag touting their position in this world, most of us wouldn’t be able to tell they were in the “elite” class of our culture. You do get into some complicated territory when they are Christians, too, though, don’t we? It’s like we expect them to excel in their religion like they did in their science classes, and I know I am disappointed occasionally when they can’t measure up to whatever ridiculous standard my brain has established for them.
    As for being a crazy fruitcake, I beg to differ. (Or, maybe because I’m a member of the FruitLoop family, I’m biased). If anything, I think all of this trauma has made you somewhat childlike…ageless…like PTSD tends to do in some of us. It can’t be a really bad thing, though, because Jesus did direct us to become child-like. I vote you wear that crazy badge with honor. You are crazy like a fox, and yet there is the gentleness that comes with serving the Lord.You are as wise as a serpent, as we were told to be, and you know the world hates to see us follow the Lord’s principles to the letter..even some Christians.

    I miss you. I’m going to send you an email about what’s been going on. I’m still not ready to write about it publicly yet. Talk to you soon!

    Bird

    • Bird! How wonderful to hear from you! I looked into my unpredictable Yahoo spam folder and lo! Several Bird gems to be read!
      Yes, the doctor thing is a stumper. Since Dad spent his whole life in that field, legions of doctors trooped in and out of our house for decades. Most were terrific folk doing the best they can with the tools they had.
      Oddly, though, our culture still venerates them often as superior beings. Again, most disdain that. The ones that don’t though, can have a surprising amount of influence. It’s best to use it well.
      As far as the PTSD issue is concerned, thanks for your observation. I hope that means you think that perhaps all of this trouble hasn’t jaundiced my point of view. I work hard on that. Thankfully, God has provided a sturdy handful of folks, like yourself, to help me rein in the claws when necessary.
      I miss you too! Dying to hear about your project!
      PS, meet me on the wonderful “Hospital” essay you wrote!
      Love you bunches,
      V

  2. Have you seen the teenage TV programme, “Revenge”? Rich people swindling scheming killing and having a ghastly time. Victoria is absolutely the best character in that, with the best lines, and the mask of sweetness with the deep mean streak.

    Apropos of nothing at all.

    Have a lovely day, and don’t let the bastards grind you down.

    • Anonymous

      Clare, as always, thought provoking. I’m not quite sure what to make of this, though. Victoria has a deep mean streak? I certainly hope not. In the business I am in, I believe that doctors, who are basically teachers, are held to a different standard. I have the lives of the most defenseless in our society at my school every single day. Children ages birth through five must have care providers who get it right every single day.
      That a doctor felt it was appropriate to discuss my situation with anyone is not healing, in fact, it is destructive, and never, ever ok.

      • I apologise. It was a silly thing to say. I wanted to say something ridiculous, to lighten the tone but completely misjudged. I did not intend to imply Victoria is mean: that is clearly not the case.

  3. I am fortunate to have such a thoughtful and diverse thinker as Clare Flourish in my friend circle. Clare is at once funny, thoughtful, deeply caring, intellectual and completely goofy. Check out her blog at once! clareflourish.wordpress.com.
    Much love,
    Victoria

  4. LUV YA. :)

  5. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    MY DAD WAS ONE OF THE FEW WHO SURVIVED COLON CANCER—THEY CAUGHT IT IN TIME (GOING IN FOR SOMETHING ELSE!).

    • How wonderful, Jonathan! So great to hear victories from this evil beast. Have you written his story somewhere?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 344 other followers